Call us



Officers of the Association consist of a President, Immediate Past President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. Each officer is a voting member of the Association and is elected by the incoming Board of Trustees for a one-year term. The First Vice President is of the opposite political party as the President, and the Second Vice President is of the same political party as the President. The Secretary and Treasurer are of opposite political parties.

President: Joyce Kale-Pesta


Timothy A Ward
Immediate Past President: 
Tim Ward (Director, Madison County)


Robert Frost
First Vice President: Rob Frost, Cuyahoga County


Second Vice President: Michelle L. Wilcox, Auglaize County

Treasurer– Jody O’Brien, Hancock County
Secretary– Beth Ann Snyder, Fayette County

Officer Bios:

Joyce Kale-Pesta is the  President of OAEO.  President Pesta is the Director of the Mahoning County Board of Elections, where she has served for the past 29 years.  She is the Vice-Chair and Secretary of the Mahoning County Democratic Party and a Democratic Member of the Ohio Election Machine Examiners for the Ohio Secretary of State.   She was the past Trustee of the OAEO and the Former Co-Chair of the Ohio Association of Election Officials Legislative Committee.
John F. Kennedy Democratic Woman of the Year
Ladies AOH Woman of the Year
Mahoning Valley St. Patrick’s Day Parade Grand Marshal
Ohio Sec. of State Election Official of the Year 2012
Ohio Sec. of State Bright Idea Award 2015
League of Women Voters of Greater Youngstown Hall of Fame Award 2016

Tim Ward is the  Immediate Past President of OAEO.   Ward has been the Director of the Madison County Board of Elections since February 2007.  He has served the OAEO as a Trustee, Co-Chair and member for the Legislative Committee, Conference Committee, Website Committee and the OAEO/CCAO Funding Committee.

Rob Frost  is the 1st Vice President of OAEO. Vice President Rob serves as a Board Member of Cuyahoga County Board of Elections.  Having also served as Chairman of the Republican Party of Cuyahoga County since January of 2005, Rob is also a founding partner of the governmental advocacy firm Capitol Partners and a former Rocky River City Councilman.  Prior to entering into private law practice, Rob served as Assistant Chief Legal Counsel to Ohio Auditor of State Jim Petro.

Michelle L. Wilcox is the Second Vice President of OAEO. Vice President Wilcox has been the Director of the Auglaize County Board of Elections since 2013. She has served on the OAEO Legislative Committee since 2015. Prior to working in elections, Michelle was the Office Manager and a Legal Assistant at Kaufman Law Office in Lima, OH. Wilcox is a member of the Auglaize County Democratic Party Central and Executive Committees. She has been married to Kip Wilcox for 32 years, and they have four children and six grandchildren.

Jody Beall O’Brien serves as the Treasurer of OAEO. Treasurer O’Brien has been the Deputy Director/Director of the Hancock County Board of Elections for 17 years and has served the OAEO as a trustee and officer since 2006.  A graduate of the JoAnn Davidson Leadership Institute, O’Brien is a member in her party’s county central committee and is a member of a variety of civic and church committees and organizations.

Beth Ann Snyder serves as the Secretary of OAEO.  Secretary Snyder has served the Fayette County Board of Elections and has been a contributing member of the OAEO for 20 years.  Snyder has been a Trustee or a Member of the Legislative Committee since 1999 and has served on various committees including on the education, nominating, audit, and conference planning committees. She has served on Project EVEREST in 2008 and was appointed as Secretary of the Association in January of 2009.

Aaron Ockerman
,our Executive Director, has represented the Ohio Association of Election Officials since 2001. In addition, he specializes in executive agency relations, legislative lobbying and public procurement. He has represented a broad array of clients including statewide associations, non-profit organizations and Fortune 500 companies. Before joining the private sector, he served as legislative liaison for the Ohio Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. Prior to this, in his time service as legislative aide with Senator Louis W. Blessing Jr., he staffed both the Senate Judiciary and Ways and Means Committees. Aaron graduated magna cum laude from the University of Dayton where he holds a bachelor’s degree in political science. He is married to Denise Ockerman, and they have a son, Adam and a daughter, Megan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *